Today marks the 20th anniversary of the debut of the first Xbox console in North America. In 2001, Microsoft overcame the odds and convinced millions of players to pick up a video game console from the makers of Windows, Word and Excel. Thanks in part to franchises like Halo, Gears of War and Forza, not to mention the incredibly consumer friendly Game Pass subscription program, Microsoft’s Xbox division shows no sign of slowing down.

To celebrate this milestone, Microsoft announced a new list of titles that are now added to their backwards compatibility program, 76 in total, and among them is Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe. There are a few licensed games in this batch, including Avatar: The Last Airbender The Burning Earth and LEGO Lord of the Rings, but Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe is the sole comic book inspired offering among them.

Originally released in 2008, Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe was the 8th chapter in the long running Mortal Kombat franchise and the first entry that crossed over with another intellectual property. Though it took a lot of heat upon its release for having toned down violence compared to past entries – it carried a T rating instead of an M – Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe is still a highly enjoyable fighting game that almost serves as a prototype of how NetherRealm Studios would craft their titles moving forward.

Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe can now be enjoyed on the entire Xbox family of consoles.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s