When the September 19th release date was announced for Marvel Vs. Capcom: Infinite, multiple SKU’s of the game were also revealed that granted access to collectibles and extra fighters which will become available for download post launch. No matter what version of the game you purchase, you’ll get access to the base game, and today is was unveiled just what will be within the most basic version the game when it launches.

First, there’s the roster of characters. On the Marvel Side, you get the following:

  • Captain America
  • Captain Marvel
  • Doctor Strane
  • Dormammu
  • Gamora
  • Ghost Rider
  • Hawkeye
  • Hulk
  • Iron Man
  • Nova
  • Rocket
  • Spider-Man
  • Thanos
  • Thor
  • Ultron

From Capcom there’s:

  • Arthur
  • Bionic Commando Nathan “Rad” Spencer
  • Chris Redfield
  • Chun-Li
  • Firebrand
  • Frank West
  • Jedah
  • Mega Man X
  • Mike Haggar
  • Morrigan
  • Nemesis
  • Ryu
  • Strider Hiryu
  • Zero

The roster was leaked earlier this year, and save two fighters: one from the Marvel side and another from the Capcom side, it’s spot on from what was reported on earlier this year. This will be the first Marvel Vs. Capcom game to come with a story mode, something that’s been heavily promoted with Capcom releasing a demo during E3 this year (read my impressions of the demo HERE). There’s also a bunch of other modes for those who chose to play alone, locally, or online including:

Offline Modes and Features:

Story – puts players at the center of a fierce battle as heroes from both universes come together to stop Ultron Sigma, the combined form of two robotic villains.

Arcade – recreates the classic arcade experience. Keep winning to move forward and confront the final boss in an epic showdown of skills.

Mission – players can do various tutorial missions, or try their hand at advanced character-specific challenges.

Training – set up a training area with various parameters and hone skills to improve fighting abilities.

Vs. Player 2 – go head-to-head against another player locally.

Vs. CPU – play solo against an AI-controlled opponent.

Collection – the Dr. Light Database contains numerous unlockable items, including cut scenes from the story mode, character/stage information, concept artwork and character/stage audio tracks.

Online Modes and Features:

Ranked Match – battle other players online to advance in the rankings.

Casual Match – battle other players online without the results affecting the rankings.

Beginners League – a special league fought between players of Rank 14 or lower.

Lobby – search for or create a lobby where up to 8 players can engage in simultaneous player-vs-player matches.

Rankings – view the rankings of players from all over the world.

Replay Settings – configure replay settings and view replays.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s